A Student’s Eye View


Article about the benefits of multi-sensory math lessons beyond the special education classroom.

The Learning Kaleidoscope

Ashli Black, over at Learning to Fold, recently posted this little bit of wit and whimsy.  The post essentially recounts her experience in algebra classes and compares it to the experience of contestants on an extremely confusing, quite vague, and thus hilarious math game show.  Ashli makes the point that, “As that kid without conceptual understanding in algebra, this skit is pretty much exactly what it was like in class for me. Confusing, almost no stated rules I understood, and at any moment the scene might change or I might be shoved in a box for not achieving Wangernumb.”  Ashli considers the difference between teaching for conceptual understanding and teaching for procedural understanding in her post, but it got me thinking about my own students.  I often think my students are holding their breath, waiting for me to tell them their answer was in fact “Numberwang.”

tumblr_inline_muvzqrqQY61r1x7sq

My goal as a…

View original post 734 more words

Leave a Reply

